'Lil Burgher Delights

Food for the Mommy Types

Enchiladas February 28, 2011

Filed under: Casseroles to Go,Dinners — mrsgregwillis @ 7:00 am

It is no surprise that I am a huge fan of all things spicy (have you read about my experience with the Ghost Pepper Marshmallow?). So, I am pretty excited to share with you a Mexican dish I made without a recipe the other night–Enchiladas. I will try to tell you step by step what went into making it, but I really just started grabbing things and throwing them together. I really feel that’s the best way to cook (shh….don’t tell my nutrionist!).

1. In a frying pan, heat a can of chicken (or shredded chicken from a rotisserrie chicken from your favorite GrocEry store *hint hint*) in a little bit of EVOO.

2. While it is heating, pre-heat your oven to 400 degrees. Spray Pam into a 9×13 baking dish.

3. Once the chicken is heated, toss in some hot sauce, a can of corn, and a most of a can of crushed tomatoes (save enough to throw some on top). Cook until everything is nice and tender.

4. Scoop the contents of the pan into burritos (they sell some that are sized specifically for Enchiladas) and sprinkle some shredded cheese on top of the chicken mixture. Roll the burritos up and place into the baking dish.

5. Cover the top of the enchiladas with the rest of the crushed tomatoes, more cheese, more hot sauce, and some jalapenos (or hot peppers).

6. Place the dish into the preheated oven for 20 minutes. I broiled for 3 minutes at the end to “crisp” the cheese…I have to admit, I also love burnt cheese. If you don’t, I suggest not broiling!

7. Let the dish cool for a few minutes, then dig in and enjoy! (I suggest more hot sauce!)

Yum!

 

Leave a Reply

