'Lil Burgher Delights

Food for the Mommy Types

Vegan…or Lactose Free…Icing December 11, 2010

Filed under: Desserts — mrsgregwillis @ 5:03 pm

During my attempt to bake the day away, I made a delicious recipe that only called for 1 tablespoon of yellow cake batter. What was I going to do with the 99% of the box that was left? Make a cake. Who cares that it was missing a tablespoon, the cake still came out great. Since our little girl is lactose intolerant, we find very little that she can eat…but cake with the RIGHT icing is one of those things that is actually ok to give her. So, I needed to find an icing recipe that would work with all this cake I baked.

Luckily, I took the Wilton I Course in Cake Decorating and knew that with some milk, powdered sugar, flavor, and shortening I could have icing. But, the problem with that, uh, milk! So I started desperately searching the interwebs and I stumbled on this recipe and substituted the 1/2 c margarine (which I didn’t have a vegan or lactose free version of) with the other 1/2 cup shortening. I HATE soy milk, but I figured, it’s for my daughter, so go with it. As I was mixing, I tempted fate and took a taste. Indeed, the icing was the fluffiest, most delicious concoction. The little one tested it and we waited for an allergic reaction (there was none) and the cake to finish (always takes forever). Here is what happened…

 

Leave a Reply

